

## **Southwestern Power Resources Association (SPRA):**

Since 1957, rural electric cooperatives and public power systems in the southwestern region have been joined together as members of the SPRA. Federal hydropower is a cost-effective, environmentally friendly power source for nearly *602,932 Kansans*. Nearly *1/4<sup>th</sup>* of the citizens of Kansas are able to take advantage of this clean energy.

- What began as the Committee on Power for the Southwest, SPRA continues as a voluntary, not-for-profit organization of consumer-owned electric systems located in Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas.
- These systems are customers of the Southwestern Power Administration (SWPA), headquartered in Tulsa, Oklahoma, which markets hydroelectric power generated at 24 multi-purpose Corps of Engineers water projects in this region.
- SWPA also operates 1,380 miles of high-voltage transmission line, 25 substations, and 46 communications sites and markets 2,052.5 MW of capacity and an estimated annual energy of 5,570,000 MWh.
- The power marketed by SWPA is generated at 24 Corps projects in the region.
- For almost 60 years, SPRA has fiercely protected the rights and interests of federal hydropower customers to Congress, the Administration, federal and state agencies including DOE, the Corps, US Fish and Wildlife Service, and state fish and game agencies.
- SPRA works in collaboration with SWPA and state and national trade associations such as NRECA, APPA, KEC, KMU, many others.

SWPA power is distributed in the state by the following consumer-owned, not-for-profit electric systems:

- City of Anthony
- Ark Valley Electric Cooperative Association, Hutchinson
- City of Augusta
- City of Baldwin City
- Bluestem Electric Cooperative, Wamego
- Brown-Atchison Electric Cooperative Association, Horton
- Butler RECA, Inc., El Dorado
- Caney Valley Electric Cooperative Association, Cedar Vale
- City of Chanute
- Clay Center Public Utilities
- C.M.S. Electric Cooperative, Inc., Meade
- City of Coffeyville
- City of Colby

- DS&O Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Solomon
- Flint Hills RECA, Inc., Council Grove
- City of Garnett
- Heartland Electric Cooperative., Girard
- City of Herington
- City of Holton
- City of Horton
- City of Iola
- Kansas City Board of Public Utilities
- Kansas Municipal Energy Agency, Overland Park
- Kansas Electric Power Cooperative, Topeka
- Kansas Power Pool
- Kaw Valley Electric Cooperative, Inc., Topeka
- City of La Crosse
- Leavenworth-Jefferson Electric Cooperative, McLouth
- City of Lindsborg
- Lyon-Coffey Electric Cooperative, Burlington
- City of Mulvane
- City of Neodesha
- Ninnescah RECA, Inc., Pratt
- City of Norton
- City of Oakley
- City of Oberlin
- City of Osawatomie
- City of Ottawa
- Prairie Land Electric Cooperative, Norton
- Radiant Electric Cooperative, Inc., Fredonia
- Rolling Hills Electric Cooperative., Mankato
- City of St. Francis
- Sedgwick County Electric Cooperative, Cheney
- City of Sharon Springs
- Sumner-Cowley Electric Cooperative, Inc., Wellington
- Twin Valley Electric Cooperative, Altamount
- Victory Electric Cooperative Association, Inc., Dodge City
- City of Wamego
- Wellington Municipal Utilities
- City of Winfield

The total federal hydropower allocated to Kansas is 177,000 kW.

Please contact my office with any questions regarding federal hydropower:

**Nicki Fuller, Executive Director** 

**Southwestern Power Resources Association (SPRA)** 

Office: (918)622-7800 Cell: (417)839-1809

Email: nfuller@sprahydro.com